Introducing … Adam Carroll-Armstrong

Image

Adam in rehearsals with Lily Shepherd

Adam plays Adam Bryant in our upcoming production Boy On A Bed

I run
Not me personally but Adam runs
No not me!
ADAM RUNS! I can see 13 words in and you’re already confused with my blog entry. To be honest I’m confused too.

So let me take you back to the beginning of time….
 
I’m Adam James Tiberius Kirk Carroll-Armstrong
Father Neil Armstrong
Mother Allison Carroll
Middle name, named after the captain of the USS Enterprise from Star Trek the original series.
Oh and I play Adam Bryant in ‘Boy on a Bed’. Now you see the confusion I’m Adam playing Adam… But at least people will remember my name.
Now enough about me let’s get serious and talk about the ‘Boy on a Bed’ KAPEESH (Italian hand gesture)

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…. Starbucks where I waited due to being early for my audition (I’m always early) and as I sat patiently waiting I noticed that Starbucks slowly turned into the Star Wars cantina. No stormtroopers didn’t walk through the door fellow actors auditioning did!  Scripts were flying everywhere, people screaming there lines across the table and then opposite me a gentleman doing vocal warm ups in the middle of a busy Starbucks… He later got cast as Taylor in the production of ‘Boy on a Bed’ (Perfect Casting)
The actual audition was mostly a blur for me; I remember doing a Gazelle, lion, worm and pretending to be Gary Barlow. That might be the reason why Organized Chaos picked me because they’d ‘Never Forget’ and want me ‘Back for Good’

Let’s fly back via Tardis to present day….

The rehearsal process is like a box of chocolates you never know what you’re gonna get. Walking through the door into the rehearsal room is like running through platform 9 ¾. It is the most magical, bizarre and hilarious places I’ve ever been. I honestly wouldn’t change that for the world because without the team behind ‘Boy on a Bed’ I’d not be writing this blog right now, I’d be working in Wilkinson’s ‘Where there’s a Wilko there’s a way’ (You got a mention Wilko! Now post the cheque in the mail) honestly I would like to thank Organised Chaos for offering me the role of Adam because you gave me the most challenging acting job to date! Even though I thought I had no chance after sending an email saying ‘The play is like a perfectly baked cake’ now before I go I think it’s time for a list because everyone loves a good list!

Alastair & Gayle – Thank you for giving me the opportunity to run on stage at The Lowry.
Lauren – Oh My God (bangs head) without you I don’t think we would be able to put on the show. You are ‘Boy on a Bed’ glue you hold us all together.
Matthew – (whispers) Benedict…. If you weren’t Benedict I wouldn’t of had half as much fun as I have done with you (Italian hand gesture)
Lily – I never met someone so addicted to cake but so good at a shoulder massage…. Wow!
Michael – The most professionally dedicated actor I’ve ever met! I wish I was as dedicated as you are.
Finally Paula Radcliffe – my one, my idol, my inspiration COME ON PAULA WE CAN DO THIS!

Image

So people if you’re still reading this blog! What are you waiting for! Run to The Lowry and see ‘Boy on a Bed’ on Thursday 15th & Friday 16th May! You don’t want to miss a beautiful piece of art (no pun intended) 

 

To see the tour dates and book tickets for Boy On A Bed, visit our website.

Leave a Reply

