Introducing … Una Lova in Broken

broken-rehearsals-compilation-una

Organised Chaos was a name that cropped up frequently as a producer of very interesting theatre, so when the opportunity came for me to audition I was there!

When I first read the script I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it, however I really liked the theme and felt that was something I really related to – very topical and thought-provoking. Now that we’re deep in rehearsals, I’m loving the direction the play has taken, as well as my role of Helen.

I’m playing a psychiatrist who has, well… let’s just say she has her own issues. I don’t want to spoil the plot for our audience.

From an acting point of view it’s a very demanding role with no less than nine monologues. The first challenge was figuring out who I’m talking to, when!

I’m working very hard with Paul Anderton, our director, to make sure there’s lots of emotion and different levels within Helen’s journey throughout the story.

We had our first run through of the whole play with a full cast last Friday and it was very exciting to see what the others have been working on – things make sense on a whole new level now!

Helen’s character is really coming to life and each time I’m rehearsing, new and deeper meanings suddenly present themselves.

As my stage debut, it’s great to be able to invest time in developing the character and plot over the months and weeks leading up to the performance. Very different from what I’m used to when on camera.

I’m really looking forward to our performances live in front of you and others, so if you haven’t done it yet, go book your ticket right now.

Una

To see the tour dates and book tickets for Broken and A Lot of it About, visit our website.

Leave a Reply

